The ghost of us

I remember that sofa, when we had those big gatherings and we use to sit

beside each other making fun of everybody’s outfit.

The kitchen, where you use to make me breakfast while telling me your darkest

secrets after those terrible nightmares you had.

That stool, where we made love for the first time I laugh, we almost fell

I love it how you called me baby, you were so kind and sweet

Remember that vase, we bought it at the flea market after

that big fight with my parents because we were moving in together.

They said I was too young and I should of listened.

Now the ghost of you is haunting me and won’t let me breathe.

I remember this scarf, I had it on the day you met her.

It was like your demeanor changed, you made your decision on

that day to betray me with her.

I could tell, it was much more than carnal affliction, it was spiritual.

The ghost of us will haunt me for eternity

So I must leave this behind if I want a chance at a better life

If I want to move on as you have.

She is from Venezuela, your new girl…..

From what I hear, together you will never be us.

For the ghost of us haunts you as well

You pretend to be happy with her, I know it

The way you laugh or smile it is so fake, I hear.

But then again maybe I am hearing what I wanna hear…………

Leave a Reply

